Travel Tales of Argentina

Posted on 06/13/2011 Welcome to South America

Brief Overview of Falkland Islands History

Today, June 13, 2011, Argentine President Cristina Fernandez de Kirchner will host the United Nations’ Secretary General, Ban Ki Moon, at the Casa Rosada in Buenos Aires. According to government sources, Argentina’s claim of sovereignty over the Islas Malvinas (Falkland Islands) is to dominate the talks with the Secretary General. This shouldn’t come as a surprise to anyone familiar with the Falkland Islands history in Argentina.

The Falkland Islands (Spanish: Islas Malvinas) are an archipelago in the South Atlantic Ocean, located about 250 nautical miles(460 km; 290 mi) from the coast of mainland South America. The archipelago, consisting of East Falkland, West Falkland and 776 lesser islands, is a self-governing British Overseas Territory. The capital, Stanley, is on East Falkland.

Ever since the re-establishment of British rule in 1833, Argentina has claimed sovereignty. In pursuit of this claim, which is rejected by the islanders, Argentina invaded the Falkland Islands in 1982. This precipitated the two-month-long undeclared Falklands War between Argentina and the United Kingdom and resulted in the defeat and withdrawal of the Argentine forces. The territory is currently on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories. Because of these reasons, the Falkland Islands history is overall rather complicated. 

For more information about the Islas Malvinas / Falkland Islands history and other Argentine history visit our blog. Or to find out about tours in Argentina or in Buenos Aires, contact Say Hueque!

Questions? Write to Us

Get in touch